Seek warns users over new online job scam

Online job search engine Seek is warning users not to fall for an e-mail scam that employs the bogus company name "Plasma Project" and claims to be powered by Seek.

The scam e-mail details a job involving the transfer of money on the bogus company's behalf. Previously, the scammers have employed the names Plasma Connection or Plasma TV.

The job "offer" employs phrases such as "Powered by Seek or "Seek Job of the Week" and even claims that the e-mail address was provided to the company by seek.com.au.

Seek communications manager Simon Waring said the fake company was not registered with Seek and had not advertised with Seek. He also emphasised that the e-mail addresses of recipients had not been supplied by Seek.

"These claims are false, illegal, and Seek will pursue all legal avenues open to it to protect our reputation and the privacy of our registered users," Waring said.

Waring advised that users who get this type of e-mail should not respond to the job offer or submit their bank details or other private financial information in any application process. He added that if the users have already supplied bank account details, they should immediately contact their bank for advice. Users who have been victimised by the scam should contact the Australian Federal Police Hi-Tech Crimes Unit, Waring said.

"We advise [users] to be wary of any companies that ask you to accept, transfer or 'launder' funds on their behalf. Seek regularly posts warnings about fraudulent advertising, and you can read the latest on safe job searching at our Web site," Waring said.

"Seek has been working for some time with the AFPHTC Unit in Canberra on combating the growth of fraudulent spam, and will continue to alert our registered users to the circulation of fraudulent e-mails," he added.

Like this article? Click below to send it to your mobile for free!

Advertisement

Talkback 2 comments

  1. Hi, Here is another job scam, I found this add for Courier in careerone.com.au and it's also advertised in Hawai. Once you answer it you get contacted from the company showing an address in Riga Latvia and a telephone number in Greece? I can't f Anonymous -- 07/10/04

    Hi,
    Here is another job scam, I found this add for Courier in careerone.com.au and it's also advertised in Hawai. Once you answer it you get contacted from the company showing an address in Riga Latvia and a telephone number in Greece?
    I can't find any reference to this company in Latvia. The website for the e-mail address is www.artalds.com and belongs to a Diana Strong in Houston Texas.
    Don't think it's right. Will keep you posted if I get the next step.

    Rolf
    Z-net subscriber

    Courier
    Takes about 3-4 hours in a week
    Requires no special education
    Employees get discount on our production
    Are you working hard, but still not earning enough to pay your bills? Or maybe you are willing to add a little cash to your primary income? Or you're changing a job, and want to support yourself with a part-time work?
    Then consider working for Artalds Ltd, a successful Latvian company dealing in balsams for healing various ailments such as osteochondrosis, artritis, arthrosis, muscular pains, edemas, bruises and inflammations. Our balsams are produced by an advanced technology from complex mixes of herb extracts. Today we're in the market for 2 years, and already have a wide market in Russia and Baltic states.

    Job description:

    We are currently in need of a reliable and punctual person to serve as a courier, assisting in delivery of our production to the interested people in your region. You'll also have to collect the payment, and transfer the money to the company. For the first time you will be advised by our personnel manager, so this job is open for almost everyone. The job takes few hours a week and it is possible to combine it with another one.
    The nature of this job is such that the harder you work, the more you earn. Of course, it depends on the availability of customers, but right now we have a lot of orders from England.

    Requirements:

    * A high school diploma or equivalent
    * Ability to quickly respond to our calls
    * Self motivated and hard working
    * Well developed communication skills
    * Optionally - Driving license and car ownership

    For this particular opportunity, interested parties should submit their resumes to employment@artalds.com.

    We truly appreciate the time and effort taken to submit your resume for consideration but only those candidates selected will be contacted directly.

    1. CoreDrive LTD Anonymous -- 28/04/08

      Ive recieved an email from a company called 'CoreDrive LTD' claiming that I was a successful applicant for a Financial Payment Manager that I did not apply for. I replied to see if they were legit, asking for a contact number, a website address etc but of course was not given any and instead was given a long job description and attached was a contract asking for my bank details. has anyone heard of this one?

Add your opinion


Sponsored content

Power Centre - Content from our premier sponsors

Blogs

  • Renai LeMay MyPerfect.com.au has potential
    Victorian Web start-up My Perfect has a strong story and rationale for why it will succeed. But it has to overcome some challenges and design flaws first.
  • Array Storage infrastructure on the tender track
    For a large-scale storage project, it's not uncommon to go out to tender for the best deal — but when was the last time you had to put together a tender for a document management room?
  • Array Apple has killed the video store; will ISPs be next?
    The Olympics are nearly over, and the Australian team deserves kudos for an excellent performance all around. Yet even as the Olympic sun sets on the Bird's Nest for the last time this weekend, millions of spectators around the world will be scanning their dials in the hope of finding something else to fill their viewing hours.
  • More blogs »

Tags

Back to top

Featured