Fraudulent e-mail targets ANZ customers

Another spam e-mail fraudulently claiming to represent an Australian bank is doing the rounds, this time claiming to be from the Australia and New Zealand (ANZ) Banking Group.

ANZ has issued a warning about the e-mail, pointing out that the link included in the e-mail goes to a Web site identified by an IP address, rather than www.anz.com, the bank's Web address. The fraudulent Web site has the "look and feel" of the ANZ site, according to ANZ spokesperson Rita Zonius.

An indication that the ANZ e-mail is fraudulent is the poor English used. "Our new security system will help you to avoid frequently fraud transactions and to keep your investments in safety" reads the e-mail, which continues: "Due to technical update we recommend you to reactivate your account."

ANZ said it had no plans to issue a warning e-mail to all its customers. It said it would post a warning on its site about recent similar fraud attempts.

Advertisement

Talkback 4 comments

    The most concerning issue this raises is that the emails are able to be so well targeted to ANZ customers. How are the scammers obtaining the email addresses???Anonymous -- 11/04/03

    The most concerning issue this raises is that the emails are able to be so well targeted to ANZ customers.

    How are the scammers obtaining the email addresses???

    I'd suggest they are randomly choosing email addresses, not getting them from ANZ in any way. Like the Commonwealth Bank scam, a large number of people would hold accounts.Anonymous -- 11/04/03

    I'd suggest they are randomly choosing email addresses, not getting them from ANZ in any way. Like the Commonwealth Bank scam, a large number of people would hold accounts.

    Having looked at what unfolded with this in the morning, I can tell you it was just a mailing list that contained .com.au ending type domain names in the email address that received the email. The English was woeful to say the least in the offending emailAnonymous -- 11/04/03

    Having looked at what unfolded with this in the morning, I can tell you it was just a mailing list that contained .com.au ending type domain names in the email address that received the email. The English was woeful to say the least in the offending email and to top it off; you really need to be gullible to fall for what the sender asked you to do.

    In any case the offending site was closed down this morning shortly after being discovered by the technical team at ANZ.

    Gambling Online 2006Anonymous -- 08/03/06

    Hallo you! Great web site. I found exactly the information I was looking for. I will recommend your page to all my
    friends!

Add your opinion


Latest Videos

Blogs

  • Juha Saarinen TelstraUnClear
    Telstra's New Zealand arm TelstraClear is one strange company ...
  • Array E-health too unsexy for COAG
    There will always be something more politically sexy than e-health for state governments, meaning the National E-Health Transition Authority's business case for a national electronic medical record might just sit on the shelf gathering dust forever.
  • Array Will Rudd's bush backhaul bonanza deliver?
    Rural areas will be welcoming the government's decision to put its money where its politicising is, funnelling $250m into a regional fibre upgrade to six rural centres. Remedying over a decade of near-neglect at the hands of telecoms privatisation, the investment could be the firmest step yet for Labor's NBN dream — but with inevitable political questions and a looming election, Rudd and Conroy need to deliver, and quickly, to preserve the NBN's credibility.
  • More blogs »

Tags

Back to top

Featured