Aust domain administrator warns against .biz scam

The administrator of .au domain names is warning Australian businesses to be wary of contacts from an organisation it believes is falsely positioning itself as the global domain name administrator.

auDA chief executive officer, Chris Disspain, said the organisation, trading as the Federal Bureau of Domain Names (FBODN), had contacted several Australian businesses, "telling them someone has applied to register their name in .biz, but that FBODN has blocked the registration and is now able to offer the name in .biz to the Australian business.

"As far as auDA can ascertain, FBODN is not an official, or US government-endorsed, administrator of .biz or any other domain name extension," Disspain said. "As such, Australian businesses should be wary of any contact with FBODN.

"Australian businesses should also be aware that anyone can register a .biz domain name. Additionally, those who own the comparable .com domain name extension are not able to veto the registration of the .biz extension by someone else," Disspain continued.

The auDA statement -- issued today -- follows on the heels of yet another warning to .au domain holders over faxes and letters from companies associated with Chesley Rafferty. auDA claims those statements may mislead people as to the status of domain names and induce them to pay money to Rafferty's companies.

Disspain said despite FBODN's Web site being being heavily branded with American icons, imagery and references to the US federal government, www.fbodn.com was registered to Michael Goodall -- a resident of London, England.

Disspain told ZDNet Australia  that while he was concerned about people being misled in domain name registrations, his "gut feeling" was that they were being misled "less and less" because of their greater awareness of what constituted a dubious approach. This was, he said, in part due to the work of auDA.

Advertisement

Talkback 3 comments

    FBODN approach us today in Sin ...Anonymous -- 14/03/05

    FBODN approach us today in Singapore telling us the same story except that the person(s) were trying to register our name under .net.
    Through our own checks, they are based in philippines.
    Once question over how they got our contact details, their story became filmsy..

    I am from Malaysia. A represen ...Anonymous -- 13/05/05

    I am from Malaysia. A representative who claimed to be from FBODN called. She told us that someone (by the name of Andrew Yap) is currently online requesting to register my company name as his domain name. She stressed that I should act fast to register the name else it will be taken by "Andrew Yap". She even provided me with an URL
    (http://www.fbodn.com/paypal) to remit payment for securing the domain name. Sensing that she is a fraud, I declined. The governing body for domain name registration should look into this else more may fall victim to their scheme.

    Boy am I glad I read this warn ...Anonymous -- 11/06/05

    Boy am I glad I read this warning. I am a resident in the UK and have my own business. Was telephoned today trying to sell me this for £30. I asked him to call back next week. Lucky me, Im glad I am internet trained enough to look before I leap. Ajay

Add your opinion

Latest Videos

Sponsored content

Power Centre - Content from our premier sponsors

Blogs

  • Suzanne Tindal IT: Govt's cost-cutting bitch
    The government needs to stop looking at IT as a necessary evil or the place to remove costs when the Treasurer comes calling.
  • Array Can complaints on mobile content be cut?
    On 1 July this year the new Mobile Premium Services Code was introduced. It sounds like it's had a good impact, but is it enough?
  • Array NZ farmers: Bleating about broadband
    As we know, farmers are such bleaters. They bleat as much as the four-legged woolly things in their paddocks. If it's not the weather, it's the strength of the dollar! Nothing is ever right. Likewise with rural broadband.
  • More blogs »

Tags

Back to top

Featured